who we are

Our Mission


Ascend PAC is a 527 political action committee aimed at identifying and providing financial support to emerging Democratic candidates running for local office, including school board, city council, mayor, and state legislature.


For more information, contact:

David Burd at david@ascendpac.com

Tim Lim at tim@ascendpac.com


Our Team




David Burd is an executive recruiter at the firm Heidrick & Struggles where he focuses on identifying talent for senior legal and government affairs roles.  He has spent over a decade involved in fundraising on behalf of Democratic causes and candidates, co-founding Young Lawyers for Obama; Gen44, the young professional arm of President Obama’s re-election campaign; and serving on the campaign’s National Finance Committee. 

He also serves as a founding Board Member and current Board Chair of the Millennial Action Project, an organization dedicated to promoting bipartisanship through millennial leadership.





Tim Lim is CEO of Lim Consulting Services LLC, which focuses on political strategy, organizational development, and fundraising. Tim most recently served as a Partner at Bully Pulpit Interactive (BPI), a full service marketing agency that works with political campaigns, corporations and advocacy organizations, as well as the President and Founder of Precision Network, a cutting edge media buying firm.

In addition to his campaign and digital media background, Tim brings a wealth of political fundraising experience:  he served as one of the Founding Co-Chairs for Gen44, the young professional arm of President Obama's re-election campaign and on the National Finance Committee of the Hillary for America campaign in 2016.



Core Team

Ascend's core team are the individuals investing their time to build Ascend from the ground up.  From organizing events, to enhancing our online presence, and recruiting others to get involved, Ascend's core team has been vital to standing up Ascend over the past number of months.


Jarret Berg

Andrew Byrnes

Alex Elman

George Farah

Sam Levor

Steven Newmark

Stephanie Schlatter

Aaron Wodin-Schwartz

Greg Spielberg

Sara Valenzuela

Todd Watkins

Julie White

Nathaniel Yap


Founding Members

Founding Members, Co-Chairs, and Chairs are Ascend's earliest and most important supporters.  They believe deeply in our long-term vision of building up our bench and our Party, and have stepped up and made both a financial donation and a commitment to make that vision a reality -- to raise or donate $2,500 (Members), $5,000 (Co-Chairs), or $10,000 (Chairs) by the end of 2018.  These supporters have given Ascend the critical start-up capital to have an impact in 2017 and 2018 while laying the groundwork to grow in 2019 and beyond.


Founding Chairs

David Burd   

Michelle Coyle  

George Farah  

Tim Lim     

Rick Rome 

Francisco Sanchez

Jim Spencer

Nathaniel Yap

Founding Co-Chairs

Scott Allen

Jarret Berg

Andrew Byrnes

Sammy Chu

Mike Gillespie

Lauren Glant

Ben Klubes

Richard Mark

Jennifer McDowell

Shekar Narasimhan

Julie & Joe Warin

Todd Watkins

Julie White

Julian Yap


Founding Members


Blaine and Terry Aikin

Raul Alvillar

Ted Anastasiou

Anurima Bhargava

Diana Banks

Ken Biberaj

David and Stacey Brodsky

Rebecca Buckwalter-Poza

Dustin Campbell

Mike Castellano

Chris Chan

Tracy Cole

Francis Colon

Nate Cushman

Mike Doerr

David and Rose Donovan

Drew Eldredge-Martin

Justin Elghanayan

Mike Farah

Irma Fernandez

Josh Galper

Tyler Gellasch

Will Gillespie 

Lee Gochman

Andrew Greenberg

Maura Harway

Christian Hassold

Eric Hirschhorn

Ash Jamali

Will Johnson

Amanda Kane

Ali Kim

Andrew Korge

Sam Levor

Nathaniel Parks

John Piotrowski

Andrew Krebs-Smith

Nicholas McCoy

Mike McVicker

Michelle Millben

Matt Morningstar 

Jeff Nelson

Sonja Nesbit

Steven Newmark

Varun Nikore

Joe Ortega

Jo Osterhout

Lance Polivy

Russ Rampersand

Jeff Rapp

Bob Raymar

Jo Recht

Chelsea Roe

Diane Ryan

Stephanie Schlatter

Courtney Seiloff

Russell Semmel

Seema Shah

Carl Shepard

Jeff Skinner

Sarah Slamen

Ted and Mary Breasted Smith

Nick Smyth

Sylvia Strikis

Josh Teitelbaum

Nicole Tichon

Beth Tomasello

Sara Valenzuela

Merryl and Steve Weber

Evan Wessel

Molly White

Aaron Wodin-Schwartz


State Advisory Boards


Our approach to candidate identification is all about leveraging local insights and knowledge - partnering with like-minded organizations and community and political leaders who know their states well to help identify rising stars.  Towards that end, for Texas and Virginia, our first two states in 2017, we have built out Advisory Boards to help us do just that; we worked closely with a number of leaders in our third state of Pennsylvania in 2018, and are about to announce our PA Advisory Board shortly. These individuals represent a sampling of the leaders we are working with to gain insights on local talent.


Texas Advisory Board


Monica Gomez

Political Director, Annie’s List

Greg Casar

 Member, Austin City Council

Yvonne Gutierrez

Executive Director, Planned Parenthood Texas Votes


Amanda Nelson

 Political Director with the Texas American Federation of Teachers

Cliff Walker

 Program Director of Candidate Recruitment and Campaign Services, Texas Democratic Party


Chelsea Roe

Founder & CEO, Leaven Strategies Group


Virginia Advisory Board


Julie Copeland

Executive Director, Emerge Virginia


Dan Lagana

Political Consultant, Northern Virginia


Mike Doerr

President, Bowie Consulting


Christopher Lewis

Member, Alexandria City School Board


Trevor Southerland

Deputy Executive Director, Virginia House Democratic Caucus

Julie Jakopic

Chair, Virginia’s List


Kees Nordin

Former Political Director, Democratic Party of Virginia


Ascend Partner Network


Ascend Network Partners are organizations we work with to support emerging Democratic candidates: